I’m writing this from inside one of our live trucks. As I look out the door, smoke pours in to the sky in the distance. While firefighters have made grounds on the Waldo Canyon Wildfire, it’s obvious mother nature is putting up one heck of a fight.

I’m normally off on Saturdays, but I’m filling in for another reporter who is on vacation. Tonight, I’m Reporting for the 5pm, 9pm and 10pm newscasts.
It’s starting to heat up again out here. Reporters who’ve been on the fire for days seem exhausted. We’re all waiting for a 4pm news briefing, where we’ll hopefully learn new information about the fire’s reach.

A new Reporter from Channel 7 stopped by our live truck to introduce himself. His name is Tak. He used to work down here in the Springs.

I also ran in to NBC News Correspondent Miguel Almaguer. He’s a really nice guy. He’s preparing a report for tonight’s NBC Nightly News.

That’s all for now. Keep checking my Facebook page for more updates throughout the day.

Cathy
6/30/2012 07:35:48 am

I lived on the AFA during high school, and in the Rockrimmon and Mountain Shadows area for about 35 years afterwards; in about 6 different places. My work was in the Rockrimmon and Mountain Shadows area (HP and MCI). I now live in Englewood, having moved up here for work about 5 years ago. Two ex-husbands, a sister, and many, many friends still reside in the area that is now burned. One friend lost both a home and a rental property. Everyone else is safe, so far.

This past Tuesday as I left work in Broomfield, I snapped a few pics of the then 6-acre Flagstaff fire. When I got home, I turned on 9news as usual and watched in horror of the developments in Colorado Springs, until the news went off of the air. I was so sick at my stomach all night and the next day, knowing of all of those affected. I so appreciate the coverage 9news has provided. I would have been lost without it.

Thanks for what you do, Kevin! And thanks for your blogs - well done!

Reply



Leave a Reply.