I really love my job. A lot. I can’t imagine doing anything else.

I had just gotten off of a four-day weekend. I tend to get a little bit antsy after having more than two days off. I enjoy my job so much I hate to be away from it for an extended period of time.

On the final day of my mini-vacation my assignment editor Nadia Gedeon called me at home and asked me if I would be available to leave early in the morning to head to South West Colorado.

She set up a story with a family from Reno who lost their van and all of their belongings in a flash flood near Cortez.

When it comes to trips where I get to drive far and explore Colorado, I never say no.

I told her I would be in early to gear up and head out. Instead of going in early, I ended up going in that night to grab my gear and a vehicle. I actually returned to the station late at night (around 10pm) in my pajamas to grab extra gear. I was really excited to head to Cortez; I had never been there before J

The drive to Cortez was spectacular. It was my first time driving along Route 160 past Del Norte in to Pagosa Springs and in to Durango. Stunning scenery!

When I arrived in Cortez, I shot my story and then headed to my hotel room to put it together.

It aired that night at 9pm/10pm on 9news. 


7/10/2012 03:17:30 pm

It is so cool that you love your job so much; I think it shows in the stories you do. I like my (paying) job ok, but I don't miss it when I'm off. My fun, part-time, not-yet-paying job, though (my blog) I do love like that and think about it constantly. Anyway, you and the rest of the 9News team always have my attention. I'd say keep up the good work, but when you love it that much, good work is inevitable.

Reply



Leave a Reply.